By Our Hearts

These days I seem even more engaged than before in reviewing my art work. I believe this is a life review of sorts since the work spans decades.  This week I had a look at my old sketch books. The drawing in this post is a recent one from around 2011. I’m guessing that’s the date because of other sketches I dated in the same book. Again, I had forgotten it was there and am glad to reclaim it. It’s part of a story I was writing that I considered also illustrating, but did not. I’ve been thinking of returning to the story and seeing if I can resurrect it and reshape it more to my liking. Meanwhile, here’s the sketch for you. I made it mostly with Faber-Castell Pitt markers which I find very enjoyable to work with.

Felt marker drawing--It is by our hearts that we shall be known--©Lily S. May.

Felt marker drawing–It is by our hearts that we shall be known–©Lily S. May.


4 Comments on “By Our Hearts”

  1. papict says:

    I think reviewing art work is always beneficial: it helps chart progress and analyzing past mistakes and successes is a useful learning tool. Sometimes also we can become inspired by a past piece and this spurred on to try something new or take the old idea in a different direction. I had to review all of my art work as part of emigrating. I knew I couldn’t ship all of my art work so I had to go through decades of art work making decisions as sorting the wheat from the chaff. In the end I shipped my best pieces but I also stored some other pieces in my in-laws’ attic which weren’t so good but which were useful in charting progress or as “try again” inspiration.

  2. artsofmay says:

    Thanks for your thoughtful comments. I agree with you and find that reviewing the art work reflects not only my skill levels at different times of my life but also my emotions.

  3. Design Waves says:

    This drawing with its accompanying words is very poignant. It makes me feel strong and vulnerable at the same time as I reflect on what it means to me. Thanks Lily for sharing it. I love the surprise of coming across a truism that holds so much meaning,


Leave a Reply

